Goldilocks And The Three Bears

By William G. Muir

So my friend Julie is always sending me links to writing contest that she has come across. I have to say this is the most unusual one she has sent me to date. The rules were pretty simple. Find a classic fairy tale, change it around and make sure it is no longer than 500 words. I wasn’t sure if I would do this one. I liked the idea, I just didn’t know if I could pull it off. It is not that I didn’t think I could mess with a fairy tale. I have done that on more than one occasion.

It was the 500 word limit that bothered me. My writing partner Michala will tell you, I don’t know how to write anything short. Of course she says that in jest. But I do have a problem limiting myself when I am writing. But I gave it a shot anyways and managed to come in under 500 words.

I hope you enjoy my take on….

Goldilocks And The Three Bears

The three little bears were returning home from their walk. It had been Papa Bear’s turn to make dinner. But since he had to work late he decided they would all walk down to the burger stand to get something to eat this night. It was an ingenious idea since the three of them could never come to an agreement on what they were eating.

Upon opening the door Papa Bear exclaimed, “We’ve been robbed.”

“Oh my,” Mama Bear did exclaim. “Look what someone did to my beautiful home.”

Papa Bear walked over to Easy Bear recliner. “Just look at this, they sat in my chair.”

“There must have been more than one, they sat in my chair as well.” Said Mama Bear

Baby Bear picked up the shattered remains of what had once been his special chair. “Look what they did to my chair,” Baby Bear said. “One of them must have used it to smash the other over the head with.” Baby Bear began to weep the lose of his comfy chair. It meant he would have to use the wooden folding chair until he got a new one. He was not looking forward to pulling splinters from his diaper.

They all went searching the house, to see what further mischief the intruders had been up to. Papa Bear and Mama Bear came a running when Baby Bear called for them to come to his bedroom.

Upon arrival they saw a young blonde hair girl sleeping in Baby Bears bed. Quickly Papa ran to grab the duct tap and three bears confined her to the bed with the tape. They even put tape over her mouth so she wouldn’t scream when she woke up.

As Papa Bear got out his saw, Mama bear laid her paw upon his shoulder. “Should we wait till she comes around? We need to know if she had an accomplice.”

“What for?” asked Papa Bear.

“In case they go to the cops.” Mama Bear replied,” sooner or later they are going get worried about their friend.”

“If she had a partner they will not go to the police.” He assured Mama Bear.

“How can you be so sure?” She asked.

“If they went to the police,” he said, “then they have to reveal they broke into our home. That mean they would go to jail. We are safe.”

Mama Bear though about what he had said, and she smiled. “It sure would have been nice to have gotten a pair of human. Then I could have made matching jackets for you and Baby Bear.”

Mama Bear went to leave the room, but before she closed the door she said to Papa Bear, “Make sure to tenderize this one. The last one was too tough.”

Leave a Reply

